Happy New Year!

In case you haven’t noticed, it’s a new year! I hope you all made me proud and welcomed it by getting blind drunk. I also hope that you wore some great outfits, and thought you looked amazing. And I especially hope that when you saw the photos the next day, you didn’t look quite as amazing as you’d thought, and you had make up down your face, visible bra and the pièce de résistance, vomit in your hair. I do love the festive season.

I went to someone’s flat for New Years. It was a very low key and laid back affair. I wanted to look nice but not overdone, so went with a Marks and Spencer Limited Collection satin jumper (which I got in the sale) and some old River Island pyjama bottoms with thick tights and boots. I also overdid my eyes, using thick black eyeliner in the corners and finishing off with silver pencil. The ensemble probably didn’t work, but it was a prime example of things that could potentially work in theory, which is the next best thing.

All in all, it’s been a strange few weeks. We heard the news that La Senza had entered administration, and it has recently posted a list of stores which are to close imminently. This is very bad news for underwear lovers, and has led to a stream of bosom-friendly headlines in the papers (“La Senza goes tits-up”, “Storm in a DD-Cup” etc etc). Naturally, to stop itself from going completely off the financial cliff it is having a mega sale, where most stock has 70% off. Even the usual full-price items (e.g. strapless and sports bras)  are half-price. Basically, it’s all going wrong for the high-street (I’ve also heard a rumour that Thorntons is going down the pan. It may be time to turn on your gas oven…)

When I started this blog, I researched others to see how to do it. One thing I was shocked at was how personal each blog seemed to be. So, in the spirit of the new year and in an effort to personalise my blog, I will reveal that I seemed to have bagged myself a fella. This is no small achievement in my book, as I’ve never had a proper boyfriend and have usually beheaded potential suitors when they approach. “But how?”, I can hear both of my readers  asking. Was it eclectic style? Perfect make-up? No. Simply because I’ve managed to trick him into thinking I’m a nice person. He’ll probably soon realise I’m an extremely boring human being (my Christmas present to myself was a new toothbrush – oral hygiene FTW) ; but until he does, the La Senza sale will probably come in handy.

I’d love to hear some more New Years outfits if anyone cares to contribute. Or at the very least, some new year’s resolutions. Mine is to punch people called Nancy.

 I just don’t like that name.

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

Please leave a comment. If not, I might hunt you down.

